The Elephant in the Room – Distraint

Now, this was an interesting experience. I got this game on a BundleStars give-away and finally got around to finishing it. I think this was one of the shortest games I’ve ever played, only reaching about 2 hours of playtime. Still, the story itself was quite amazing and also pretty disturbing.

The game is developed by a guy named Jesse Makkonen who as far as I can tell only made one more game besides this one, so he is quite new in the field of indie game developement.

The game is described as sort of an indie-drama-horror type which follows down a linear path. Don’t hope to change the course of the events, this time you just go with the flow. I have to admit, this did make me angry a few times, since I am an avid RPG played and most of the times used to the freedom (or at least pretended freedom) of choices I have. Well, in this game, you have none, zero, nada, null, *insert other words meaning zero* choices, even if you disagree with what’s happening, there is nothing you can do about it. Luckily the story flows well and I could sort of become one with the main character, even if once or twice his annoying decisions made crawl up a wall (was that too Hunglish?).

There are also some puzzles to solve which made the game quite interesting, since (most of the time) they made sense, but were not too obvious. For me, the perfect puzzle experience.

The music gave the whole game a really nice atmosphere, sometimes scaring the living crap outta me. And about the horror part, well, I think it was not that scary, rather disturbing, which is fine by me. I hate these jump-scares, this is why I also avoid most horror titles like the plague. But this one was pleasant, or as pleasant as a horror game can be. Made my stomach turn a tiny bit a few times though.

All-in-all, I would recommend this game to anyone who is not too hung up on AAA titles and 4k graphics, since the story is pretty damn amazing (though not the best I have ever played, but still better than most games nowadays). The game itself is 5 Euros on steam when it sells for full price, if you find it to be too much, wait for a sale and buy it for cheaper, like for example the current sale price for 0,69 EUR is more than worth it. And since I was lucky enough to get it for free, I feel like the Gods have smiled upon me and blessed me with this small gem of modern game developement.

Oh and I’ve heard it is also available on Android for all them mobile players. Not sure how it plays on that though, only finished it on PC.

Playtime: ca. 2 hours

Steam page

Google play page

Author: Empress Slagathor

I'm something of a geek, full-time worker, part-time majoring in IT. My blog is something of an outlet, partly to practice writing, partly to share my thoughts with the world.

Leave a Reply

